Director’s Creed: Never fall in love with a single scene, or shot

Many years ago, I heard something that I will attempt to paraphrase as I don’t have a source.

The greatest danger of which a director (of films) must be aware and remember at all times is falling in love with any single scene. This scene may contain a single shot to which the director is loathe to abandon.

I thought this to be sensible until I made my first video from absolute scratch–I shot the footage, built a separate sound track, built (edited) the final video and combined video and audio into a final product. It was during this process that I learned the total truth-value of the cautionary advice.

I apply this truism into writing: I might have a destructive attachment to a single phrase or sentence (or more) at the expense of the total result.

This post was inspired by the final three sentences of an article I read recently.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Director’s Creed: Never fall in love with a single scene, or shot

  1. scherado says:

    I do think, now, that the origin warned against falling in love with any single shot.

Leave a Reply

